The history of Uzès:
The first dwellers here established a base around the source of the Eure. The Romans, attracted by the spring's flow, drew upon it to provide fresh water to the rapidly expanding town of Nîmes, and a 50 km-long aqueduct was designed and built during the first century AD… but that is another story!
From the fifth century, Uzès started to grow, and the town was host, until the 19th century, to a powerful bishopric, regrouping up to 200 parishes.
During the 16th century, the count Antoine de Crussol was bestowed the title of Duke and in 1632, Uzès became the 1st duchy of France. The castle, symbol of Uzès (and inhabited to this day by the de Crussol family, is a harmonious blend of architecture and ornaments from different periods of French history: it features thousand-year old caves, feudal towers (the Tour de Bermonde, the Tour du Roi and the Tour de l'Evêché), ramparts, a Renaissance façade featuring Ionic, Doric and Corinthian elements, an 18th-century façade… The castle’s apartments house fascinating collections of furniture and ornaments. From the top of the Tour Bermonde, you can enjoy superb views over the Uzège.
Geen opmerkingen:
Een reactie posten